Gansevoort Dominican Republic
What We Love
- Each of the hotel’s sleek lofts, apartments and penthouses feels like a lavish home away from home, complete with a state-of-the-art kitchen
- Views of Playa Imbert beach from almost every corner of the property
- Four-Bedroom Penthouses feature rooftop decks with private hot tubs
What To Know
- Free WiFi
- There's a three-tier infinity pool and an adults-only pool
- The ocean-view Baia restaurant serves Mediterranean and pan-Asian dishes
- Free WiFi
- Parking On Site
- Room Service
Set on a private crescent-shaped beach close to the historic town of Puerto Plata, the Gansevoort Dominican Republic has a knockout design that is the first sign that you’re far from the cookie-cutter all-inclusive resort scene. A series of four-story whitewashed contemporary stone, steel and glass buildings contain just 48 suites, ranging from airy lofts to four-bedroom penthouses with private rooftop hot tubs and killer ocean views. Each suite’s state-of-the-art kitchen is packed with top-shelf amenities, such as white granite counters, espresso machines and panini presses, while the bathrooms feature marble walk-in showers and freestanding tubs (in some). Beyond these mansions-in-miniature lie a host of outdoor diversions, from a three-tier cascading infinity pool with unobstructed ocean views and oversize cabanas to water sports such as kayaking, snorkeling, and paddle-boarding. When dining is on the menu, head to Baia, the stylish two-level restaurant, which has globe-spanning dishes that run the gamut from Peruvian ceviche to Italian-style charcuterie, all served with a refreshing side of gentle sea breezes on the terrace. Fitness is another focus, with a meditation and yoga garden that hosts daily classes; private trainers are available.
In the Area
Golf fanatics flock to the DR for good reason: the island nation lays claim to some of the Caribbean’s best courses, including the famous—and challenging—Robert Trent Jones course at Puerto Plata’s Playa Dorada resort complex. Thanks to its position on the island’s gusty north coast, this area (particularly Cabarate Bay) is also great for windsurfing. Rent a board from Vela Cabarete and try your hand at classic windsurfing or the trendier pursuits of kitesurfing and standup paddleboarding. If retail therapy is more your thing, head to Harrison’s, a popular local chain specializing in amber, which is found in the mountains between Santiago and Puerto Plata. The hotel concierge can also arrange for more exotic experiences in the hinterland, with guided tours to rum distilleries and cigar plantations or to one of the island’s 27 waterfalls.
How to Get There
Feel sorry for the hotel that the beach was washed away by the hurricane. I would say otherwise service not bad but not excellent, we are only ones staying at the hotel. The hotel is supposed to be closed due to damages, but we did not get any notification. We asked the hotel about the damages, and was told that we could stay. Luckily we were only there for 2 nights we decided it was easier then try to find another place to stay. They did offer an upgrade. Few little things were not working well in our suite which was annoying. Food was quite good and the best service we had was from the food and beverage manager.
My husband and I went here for my 40th birthday in June 2017 (somehow, I'm just taking time to write this review). Upon our arrival, we were upgraded from a one bedroom accommodation to a 3 bedroom suite, beach view, with a private pool. Amazing! I cannot say enough about the staff. They were so attentive and gracious! They saw to our every request and always went above and beyond. The beach was smaller than most but still lovely. It almost felt like a private beach to us. We were there during the offseason. The food- UNBELIEVABLE! There are only 1 or 2 restaurants. However, we only left the property once (during an excursion) to eat. We never became bored of the menu. So many great selections. And the breakfast.......Spectacular- fresh fruits and homemade pastries every morning. We also took a private tour of the nearby waterfalls and had lunch at a local place with fresh fish and local cuisine- an absolute must do!!!! Other than that, we never left the property.
We have also stayed at the Turks and Caicos Gansevoort property which is very lovely also. However, DR property was my favorite. I love the seclusion of the DR property. The spa is small but lovely and my husband and I both had a wonderful experience.
The Gansevoort, Dominican Republic is hands down the most fabulous vacation I've been on to date and I dream of returning.
Below is a letter I wrote to management after not 1, but 2, cancelled trips to the Gansevoort due to weather related damages. I have not received a response back and I doubt I will. The customer service has been poor to date. I expected more from a hotel charging double of the price of any other resort in the area. Disappointed!
To Whom It May Concern:
The purpose of this email is to express my utmost dissatisfaction and disappointment with the Gansevoort Dominican Republic. While I have not visited the property, I have attempted to twice. Both times my reservations have needed to be cancelled, each time resulting in a cost at my expense.
We first attempted to visit the hotel in October 2017. We arranged for 5-nights of hotel accommodations and flights through Orbitz, scheduled to arrive on October 3rd.
On September 23rd I received a phone call from Delio Trinidad informing us that due to damages caused by the hurricane the hotel would be closed for renovation for an unstated period of time. Without a firm date of reopening, we agreed to cancel our reservation for a full refund. When I informed Delio that we would be charged a $150 per person airline change fee, he agreed to issue us a $300 credit towards incidentals for use during our rescheduled trip.
Since that time, I have followed the hotel’s reopening on Instagram. Eager to take our long awaited vacation, I booked another 5-night trip over Easter break, scheduled to check-in in on April 4th. The rebooking of this trip cost us almost an additional $1100 from the original booking, as both the hotel rate and flight prices rose significantly. However, we were excited about visiting the property and much in need of a vacation and decided to rebook anyway.
As I’m sure you are aware, the Gansevoort Dominican Republic is priced at almost double any other hotel in the Puerto Plata area. I was willing to pay this price purely because of the accommodations and facilities of the hotel and the anticipated level of service. When it comes to travel, I don’t skimp on the cost. If im going to go, im going to do it right and enjoy my vacation to the fullest extent possible. There is a marked difference between staying at a true five-star resort and a hotel of a lesser quality. I booked the Gansevoort not once, but twice, because I truly thought the hotel and service would be worth the price.
Not having even visited the hotel, I am completely turned off by the level of service and the integrity of your staff. Allow me to make the situation explicitly clear. While I do not hold the staff or management responsible for the hurricane and damages to the hotel, it is the hotel’s responsibility to be transparent about the true condition of the hotel.
I was not informed of the damage of your beach until after I had rebooked and pre-paid the costs of the hotel and flights. I was only informed because I reached out to management directly. After I was informed of the lack of beach, I candidly asked whether there was any other damage or ongoing construction. I was told no. Not until last Monday, March 19, did I receive a phone call from reservations agent Mikalai to confirm there were further closures at the property. While pleasant on the phone, he completely minimized the effect of the closure of the adults-only pool and assured me that there wouldn’t be many kids at the property during my stay. I immediately responded that that was not acceptable to me and that I wanted to speak with a manager regarding compensation. While I did not get the manager call that I had requested, I did receive an email response with the offer of a fruitplate and a stocked mini bar as compensation for the closures at the hotel. Laughable!
You are offering me 1/3 of the amenities I was coming for (the pools and beach) yet expecting me to pay the full price of your hotel. For you to think that $400+ a night is still acceptable for a hotel without a beach, and now only 1 pool, is not satisfactory. Your price is not inline with your current facilities.
The recent TripAdvisor reviews seem to back this up. The hotel has not been forthcoming about the true condition of the hotel. This is deceitful and disrespectful. There is no notice or indication that the hotel no longer has a beach for use. While it is nice that you were able to arrange alternative beach accommodations, a beach that I can be bussed to 5-10 minutes away from the hotel is not the equivalent of a beachfront hotel, as you have advertised. A simple disclaimer could have cleared this up and given me the informed option to book, with the property as is.
I then reached out to Assistant Manager Aura via email on March 19th and asked her to call me to discuss the situation. I received the call from her on March 21st. I explained to her my extreme disappointment with the lack of facilities, as advertised. Although she assured me the service at the hotel would be great, she did not offer us a discount on the room rate. I told her that I desired to cancel the reservation but she asked me to give her until Friday so that she could find out if the adults-only pool would be fixed by the time of my arrival. Aura did not call me back two days later as she promised but took me calling back twice before I was able to speak to her on the phone on Sunday. At this point she informed me she had not called back because she was still awaiting a response regarding the pool. I told her that we would be cancelling our reservation. Firstly, not receiving a call back as promised, no matter what she was waiting for, is not acceptable. All of this speaks to your customer service. Furthermore, I am still awaiting responses from the concierge from 9/20/17 and 3/5/18. What is your excuse for that? Our service prior to arriving was beyond poor and I wholeheartedly believe I would find the same to be true of the service upon arrival.
Further, and most importantly, the cancellation of this trip has cost us another $200 per person in airline change fees to United. Also, because we did not receive a final response from Aura until Sunday, March 25th, the cost to book airfare to another destination is completely prohibitive as this point. Thus, we missed another opportunity to take a vacation. To date, the Gansevoort has cost us $700 due to hotel cancelations.
From the moment we arrived, to the moment we departed, everyone at the resort was so friendly and did whatever it took to make us feel comfortable and relaxed. They didn't want us to do ANYTHING that required thinking or work. The accommodations were clean and beautifully appointed. We had the chef make us breakfast and dinner IN OUR villa, which was absolutely incredible (the chef and the server were so lovely, we tried to get them to join us....there was definitely enough food, but they said hotel policy didn't permit them). Pool-side food and service were great. The resort arranged for transportation off the property wherever we wanted to go. We always felt safe and relaxed. At the spa, my husband had the best massage he's ever had in his life (the massage therapist was a guy from India). We will DEFINITELY be back.
Check carefully before you book this property, during the March storms, this property has been severly damaged, restaurant, pool, bar and upper deck oceanview cabana are all gone. Drilling,digging and bulldozing of the affected areas still continues.
Note there is NO beach left at this hotel