4.5
Very Good 179 Reviews
Jetsetter Approved
This Hotel meets our standards
This hotel meets our standards, but we haven't stayed yet

What We Love

  • Lounging in the spacious, luxurious lobby, and helping yourself to a pastry or evening snack
  • Discovering NoMad, home to bookstores, boutiques, and NYC’s "Silicon Alley"
  • Streaming movies to the app-equipped tablet in your residential-style room or suite

What To Know

  • James Club amenities include complimentary coffee, tea, and pastries in the lobby between 6 a.m. and 8 a.m. every day
  • Free WiFi is available

Amenities

  •  Babysitting
  •  Free WiFi
  •  Gym
  •  Handicap Accessible
  •  Parking On Site
  •  Pet-friendly
Disclaimer: This content was accurate at the time the hotel was reviewed. Please check our partner sites when booking to verify that details are still correct.
Hotels Travel Deals landmark neighbourhood building City Town metropolis Architecture street metropolitan area mixed use house alley Downtown home condominium evening Balcony

Overview

The James Hotels’ chic Midtown outpost, steps from Madison Square Park

The Lowdown

Few hospitality groups are as synonymous with cosmopolitan style and contemporary luxury as The James Hotels, which all share a slick, fashion-forward aesthetic worthy of their glamorous urban surroundings. You can expect the same of The James New York – NoMad. This high-end hideaway is all about high design, updating the Beaux-Arts former Carlton Hotel with locally inspired details by Thomas Juul-Hansen (of Nougatine by Jean-Georges and all David Yurman outlets nationwide). Expect a reimagined mid-century vibe and plenty of 21st-century touches, from a 24-hour fitness center that will carry Peloton bikes to a custom mobile app by KEYPR on every in-room tablet. Cozy guest rooms make you feel as if you’ve rented a NoMad pied-à-terre, complete with local art on the walls and local treats in the pantry. For buzz-worthy dining, a Scarpetta location and cocktail bar by LDV Hospitality will open in early October. And in case you needed another reason to stick around, and maybe skip the city slicking entirely, complimentary pastries or light bites will be served periodically throughout the day.

In the Area

NoMad is being hailed as Manhattan’s newest neighborhood, but also dates back to the Gilded Age and retains Historic District status. Gape at the gorgeous Beaux-Arts buildings, or see all that’s hip and new right down in namesake Madison Square Park, home to one of the original Shake Shack outposts. Popular restaurants in the area include Pondicheri, Hill Country Barbecue, La Pecora Bianca, and the eateries of Eataly, while there are some stylish boutiques in the area, as well.

How to Get There

The James New York-NoMad
22 East 29 Street
New York, NY 10016 United States

Reviews

4.5 Very Good 179 Reviews
Mixed review from me.
Reviewed 7 days ago

I booked this hotel for two nights, two rooms for two couples May 2019.

We arrived early and before check-in time after finishing our cruise, we each had carry on luggage and a suitcase. We arrived by taxi and there are about half dozen steps to the hotel door, the concierge kindly opened the door for us at the top but didn’t bother to help any of us with a bag or suitcase.

Check-in (early) reception staff, very helpful staff allocated us our rooms, gave us a run down of what was included, cheese and wine in the evening, coffee in the morning, one free non-alcoholic item each day from the mini bar, wifi details etc., (might be helpful for a little list, as we had to ask again later for timings).

Room – Double Queen – When I booked the hotel having read the reviews I knew that the rooms were compact/small but thought that we were mainly in New York to see New York and not spend too much time in the hotel. The room was small and very dimly lit, had to open the blinds to get some light into the room which opens up the fact that your rooms are overlooked (back of hotel) so be mindful of others being able to see you!!

There is literally no-where to put anything (a small wardrobe in the corner of the room and a coffee table) we used the coffee table as a dumping ground and lived out of our suitcase for the days we were there. Inside the wardrobe – dressing gown, slippers, iron and ironing board, maybe room to hand a few items.

The bathroom, lighting very poor, complementary shampoo/body lotion etc., however we didn’t need to use them as we had our own. Again not much room to place your toothbrush and toiletries. Shower power – excellent. Good selection of towels including face cloth.

Hairdryer – which I found in a drawer in the bathroom. Using the hairdryer was an uncomfortable experience. No plug socket near a mirror, lead on the hairdryer very short, I ended up sat on the floor in-between the bed and room door, I had the wardrobe door propped open with my suitcase at the other end of the room which had a mirror inside, and felt like I was playing peek-a-boo just to get my hair dried. FARCE. Appreciate the building is old and maybe wasn’t originally built as a hotel, a bit of planning/designing would have given some customer comfort.

Bed – The comfiest bed I have ever slept in, in a hotel. Bedding and Pillows great. What a great night’s sleep!!

Room information pack – couldn’t find it. Would have helped with remembering the rules and times of the services.

Our room was cleaned and were given fresh towels, which was unexpected.

Free Coffee in the Morning – At the reception seating area - A good opportunity for a quick drink in a paper cup, whilst waiting for your fellow travellers/taxi. Coffee/Tea/Apples available.

We didn’t use the cheese and wine service as per out exploring.

Location – The hotel is in a fabulous location for getting about and sight-seeing, we walked, used Lyft and Uber to explore Manhattan. Didn’t hear any noise from outside.

Check-Out – I had emailed the hotel before we travelled to get the check-out time (to help with sight-seeing and airport taxi planning) and were emailed 2pm. However, at the hotel we were told 12 noon and were not flexible even though I had the email. On check-out we were told nothing to pay (we had pre-paid). Again, no help from the concierge with our bags to our taxi.

Customer Services on our return home – website – One Good, One Bad. When both couples returned home we checked our credit cards, we had both had charges on our accounts. I would assume it was for the one non-alcoholic item from the mini bar, (one water, one cola).

Couple one – full refund within 24 hours.
Couple two (me) - Automatic responses, promise from the web team our query would be dealt with by accounts. We got completely ignored – in the end we disputed the transaction through our credit card company, had to have new credit cards issued and the issue was resolved by our credit card company. Still no response from the hotel, thanks for the inconvenience).

Overall the hotel was as expected, a few disappointing aspects, but a great location and slept in a comfy bed after a really busy day of sightseeing!!

Would I book again? - NO
Would I recommend? – If you’re not fussy – perhaps just for the bed and location….

good stay
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

room was comfortable. shower had poor design where you have to get wet immediately when you turn on the water because there is no way to stand on the side. but otherwise was hot with good water pressure. Roman the valet parker went above and beyond. he was great. would stay again

Amazing Stay & Good Location
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everyone at reception was friendly and welcoming. The room was clean and roomy for a New York hotel. It looked just like the photos as advertised on the website. I ended checking out a little earlier than expected and was able to receive a refund for the night that I didn't stay (which was really great!) I was prepared to not to have that money back.
Great stay, as this was my second time in New York City but first time in this hotel. Will definitely come back.

Comfortable, clean and stylish hotel
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at The James for 5 nights while in NYC on business. I really liked the décor of the room, particularly the marble sink. The bed was so comfortable and I slept so well. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. It was great I could use the printer complimentary. I particularly have to thank the valet Joseph, who really helped me when I was struggling to get a taxi to JFK during rush hour and he managed to sort me a driver within a short amount of time. I didn't have enough money for a decent tip, which I regret, but he really deserved more. The location was brilliant - so close to Empire State and Flatiron. Was nice to be able to walk to nearby Murray Hill for more a locals experience of NYC.

Outstanding service
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the James Hotel in NoMad for the third time. We’ve also stayed at the James in SoHo a couple times. We love both locations and the boutique nature of the hotels. And the complimentary wine each evening. And the consistently outstanding service. On this particular visit, my wife had the misfortune of twisting her foot on uneven pavement in the Theater District and had trouble walking. Both Roman, the Bell Captain, and Daniel, the Hotel Manager, went out of their way to make her comfortable, arrange for a wheelchair and help her in and out of the hotel. Highly recommend and will return.