100%
Members Recommend
4.5
Very Good 105 Reviews
Jetsetter Verified
This Hotel meets our standards
Our editors have been here and it has met our standards

What We Love

  • Continental breakfast is included in the Jetsetter rate
  • The setting, on the third floor of a 15th-century palazzo on the north side of Piazza di Spagna, within sight of the Spanish Steps
  • The style, a contemporary mix of white walls and floors with avant-garde furniture and accessories, all selected by the interior designer owner
  • WiFi is free

What To Know

  • All the cutting-edge furniture and art is for sale
  • There's a small by-appointment Turkish-style spa with a massage table and steam room
  • The hotel is staffed from 7:30 a.m. to 8:45 p.m.; outside those hours guests let themselves in and out. (There's a number to call in case of emergency.)
  • Check-in time is from 3pm to 8pm but late check-in (until 11pm) can be requested for $40
  • A city tax of $5 (€3.50) per person, per night, will be collected by the hotel at checkout

Amenities

  •  Bar
  •  Free WiFi
  •  Gym
  •  Spa
Disclaimer: This content was accurate at the time the hotel was reviewed. Please check our partner sites when booking to verify that details are still correct.
Bedroom Hip Luxury Modern Suite property red house home cottage

Overview

A 15th-century palazzo with six artfully designed rooms in an enviable position on Rome's most famous square

The Look

Conceived by interior designer and owner Stefania Grippo, PiazzadiSpagna9 doesn’t just have the look and feel of a contemporary art gallery, it actually is one. All the cutting-edge furniture (upholstered in fabrics from high-end Italian fashion houses) and the art on the walls is for sale; Grippo considers the place a showroom not only for her decorating skills but also for the talents of her favorite Italian furniture designers and artists. The space is compact but open-plan, which makes it feel much larger than it is. The all-white reception area and petite lobby are punctuated by velvet chairs and dramatic, surreal photo-paintings; these give way to a light-filled lounge and breakfast room and a long hallway displaying more art.

Bed and Bath

Owner Stefania Grippo has individually decorated each of the rooms, which feature queensize steel four-poster or upholstered platform beds topped with crisp white cotton sheets from Tuscany and comforters and blankets from Society, a top-flight Italian textile company with a cult-like following. High ceilings, bare floors and white or colorful polished plaster walls are the order of the day; every room also has an artfully designed console table or desk (many are custom-made), lounge chairs and copious closet space. Most of the big, modern bathrooms come with glassed-in showers, and all rooms have large windows (some with French doors that open onto small step-out balconies). There’s also a little flat-screen TV and a Nespresso coffee machine in each room.

Beyond

The copious free continental breakfast features a mix of fresh fruit, flaky pastries, cereal, yogurt, salume, cheese and smoked salmon, plus coffee, tea and just-squeezed orange juice. You name the time you’d like it ready, and it’ll be waiting for you at a little table in the light-flooded lounge overlooking the Piazza. There’s also a small by-appointment-only Turkish-style spa, with a stone massage table, like one you’d find in a hammam, plus a steam room and a whirlpool soaking tub. The gallery exhibitions change frequently, and the owner plans to host periodic performances, pop-ups and fashion and design trunk shows.

In the Area

There’s hardly anything that isn’t in the area, so centrally located is the hotel. Most notably, you’ll have the eponymous piazza and adjacent Spanish Steps as your front yard, with the high-end shopping mecca that is Via dei Condotti heading west just off it, and the more local boutiques of Via Babuino and Via Margutta running north. Just past those is the Piazza del Popolo and the Villa Borghese, the largest park in central Rome, which also houses several museums. The Pantheon is a 10- to 15-minute walk away, with the Piazza Navona a bit farther on. Although they’re not so far that you couldn’t walk — and Rome really is a walking city — the Vatican, the Colosseum and the Forum can be reached in no time via the metro, which has a station right in Piazza di Spagna.

How to Get There

Piazza di Spagna 9
Piazza di Spagna 9
Rome, 00187 Italy

Reviews

Really disappointing
danimcfarlane

My partner and I stayed at the PiazzadiSpagna9 in September. We were so excited about our stay and as we were celebrating a very special occasion had high hopes for it.

The hotel room was small but clean, the housekeeping was good and they have nice shower gels etc. but this is the minimum an expensive hotel should provide. It wasn’t really the room itself that we were upset with, it was the customer service and the management’s response to our very valid concerns.

Our booking confirmation stated we had breakfast included but upon arrival we were told that this wasn’t the case…with no explanation or apology, just that they had “made a mistake”. We think it would have been nice to say sorry / offer some kind of compensation for the inconvenience of not providing breakfast promised in writing for 4 mornings as that is what an actually exclusive boutique hotel would do.

The worst of all was being woken up in the middle of the night by guests checking in / drunkenly trying to find their rooms after a night out and being allowed to shout / play music / wander the halls with no regard for any other guests. The hotel is so tiny that it would be impossible to sleep through this. On one night people actually tried to get into our room while we were sleeping which I personally found really frightening. I tried to call reception and their “emergency number” when this was happening – but there was no response. I also WhatsApp messaged them as they had an active account but received no reply, even in the morning when I could see it had been read. It left us feeling very vulnerable and upset.

On check out, I explained some of my concerns to the actual owner and she offered no apology, told us that PiazzadiSpagna9 is not a hotel (?!) and implied that we didn’t understand their “concept”. She was very defensive and accusatory in her way of speaking to us. We were really shocked to be honest as have never been spoken to in this way as paying guests.

Disappointing
jhmcfarlane

My wife and I stayed in Piazza Di Spagna 9 for our honeymoon.  We heard about this hotel through a high-end travel agent so our expectations for this hotel were understandably high.  Given the occasion, we were happy to pay top prices in the hope of having a luxurious experience.  Unfortunately, our experience was ultimately extremely disappointing.  

Firstly, I will say that there were some aspects of our stay that were positive and this is why I have not given a one-star rating.  The housekeeping was very good andthe bed was nice and comfy.  

The biggest problem with the hotel is that it is not really a hotel at all.  It is essentially just an apartment with a semi-staffed reception desk.  There is no restaurant or barand it is located on the 3rd floor of a multi - use building. The owner told us herself that the Piazza di Spagna 9 "isn't a hotel" when it quite clearly states that it is "an Exclusive Boutique Hotel" one on their website (attached pic).

A problem arose as soon as we arrived. I had emailed the hotel in advance with enquiries about the breakfast, as my wife has important dietary requirements.  I received no response from the hotel but assumed that this was not going to be a problem.  On arrival, we were told that there had been a mistake and that breakfast was NOT included in the price we had paid (despite the fact that my confirmation email from the hotel indicated that breakfast WAS included). Because of my wife's condition, we like to research in advance where we can go to safely eat so she was understandably worried.
We were subsequently told that the hotel couldn't provide any options for my wife to eatin any case. They asked us to go to a local café that they recommended instead (and pay for it ourselves).  The receptionist said that he had telephoned the café and that they were expecting us.  We did as instructed (already feeling let down) and found that the café had no idea we were coming and weren't very comfortable catering for my wife as they only had one suitable option on the menu.By this time we were concerned about being late for a pre-booked tour, sowe decided to stay for breakfast and paid the bill. It was 46 Euros which we found to be very expensive. Needless to say, we decided not to go back there on the remaining days. 
On our final night, we were awoken at 2am by a disturbance in the hotel. We hoped that this would only be temporary and tried to go back to sleep.  A few minutes later, we were shocked when someone tried to come into our room! I shouted and they retreated but we were understandably very shaken by the experience.  Wetried contacting reception and telephoned the emergency out-of-hours number provided by the hotel but there was no answer.  We also sent several messages and never received a reply. The sound of guestsshouting and clattering around loudly in receptioncontinued.  The next morning, weraised this when checking out and the response we received was very unsatisfactory.  Firstly, the member of staff we spoke to (who we understand is the owner - Stefania Grippo) told us that the reason for the disturbance is that the guests who arrived late were from South America.  Unsure how to react to thisirrelevant information, my wife mentioned how frightened she had been in the night with all the commotion and people trying to get into our roomand that we had contacted the emergency number for help and received no reply.  We were told that there was a member of staff present at the hotel to check these guests in and therefore the number was not staffed,but when we called reception there had been no response either.  One would hope that if there was indeed a member of staff in the hotel, they would have asked the guests to keep the noise down.  Moreover, the attempt to access our room while we were in bed is unforgivable.  We received no apology - only a series of baffling and unsatisfactory excuses.

In summary, I would recommend to other travelers that you do not stay Piazza Di Spagna 9.  You would be well advised to either stay at a hotel that is fully equipped with the facilities you expect when paying such high prices or a rent a self-catering apartment.  At least then you will hopefully not have intruders trying to come in at 2am!

Bijou hotel in the heart of Rome
DKandSA

We had one night to stay over in Rome. Piazzadispagna9 was a great choice. Right by the Spanish Steps but absolutely quite clean and well-designed suites. Our receptionists were American students and they gave us good local advice. I enjoyed my espresso sitting on my little balcony overlooking Roman roof gardens and reading my book. I’d stay here again. I booked early and got a good price - the rate card can be high otherwise.