87%
Members Recommend
4.5
Very Good 3295 Reviews
Jetsetter Verified
This Hotel meets our standards
Our editors have been here and it has met our standards

What We Love

  • Near the metro and the main train station, and an easy walk to top landmarks and some of Rome's best neighborhoods
  • Gigantic rooftop terrace, complete with blue mosaic-tiled swimming pool (open late spring to early fall), with smashing views, nightly cocktails and a seafood restaurant

What To Know

  • A city tax of approximately $4 per person, per night, will be collected by the hotel at checkout
  • This is one of Rome’s larger hotels, and on one of its more heavily trafficked piazzas, so if you’re after an out-of-the-way boutique hotel, it may not be for you
  • Breakfast is not included, and the hotel’s morning meal, while copious, costs an extra $45
  • The spa and gym are quite petite. Plans are in place for a major expansion

Amenities

  •  Babysitting
  •  Bar
  •  Free WiFi
  •  Gym
  •  Handicap-accessible
  •  Parking On Site
  •  Pet-friendly
  •  Pool
  •  Restaurant
  •  Spa
Disclaimer: This content was accurate at the time the hotel was reviewed. Please check our partner sites when booking to verify that details are still correct.
Bedroom Boutique Hotels City Elegant Italy Luxury Luxury Travel Romantic Hotels Rome property living room Suite home Lobby Villa

Overview

Grand neoclassical gem on the Piazza della Repubblica, with a gigantic rooftop terrace, restaurant and pool

The Look

Neoclassical grandeur. Housed in a dramatically curved 19th-century travertine edifice overlooking central Rome’s circular Piazza della Repubblica, the Exedra welcomes guests through its front arcade and a pair of revolving doors. Inside, a soaring cream-colored lobby showcases intricate plaster moldings and a white grand piano. Up the brass-doored elevators, the 238 guestrooms are classically decorated in warm shades of brown, cream and gold; some of them are in a 15th-century annex, where exposed wooden ceiling beams and a terra-cotta-tile roof suggest its history as a papal granary.

Bed and Bath

Heavily carved, darkly stained wooden doors mark the entry to each room. They open onto an ample closet area, with the bedroom beyond. A pair of chairs, a desk and a kingsize bed sit on plush café au lait–colored carpeting, the bed emerging from an embossed crocodile leather headboard. On the walls, thick striped wallpaper surrounds large windows; a huge mirror, heavily framed in ornate gold, seems to double the room’s size. The marble bathrooms feature twin sinks, separate showers and tubs, and Etro amenities. Deluxe and Superior Rooms are nearly identical in size, layout and amenities; the difference is the view. Deluxe Rooms overlook the Piazza della Repubblica, the adjacent Via Nazionale, or the Diocletian Baths; Superior Rooms peer over an internal courtyard.

Beyond

On the ground floor, a series of warmly lit, dark wood–paneled rooms and cozy alcoves house the lobby bar, Tazio restaurant and Champagnerie Tazio, which spills out into the hotel’s arcade, with tables and chairs overlooking the piazza. In the warmer months the rooftop pool, terrace bar and restaurant offer big city views, a sunset aperitivo scene, light bites and seafood-focused meals. There’s a small spa and fitness area on the fourth floor, and a black-and-white Italian cinema–themed breakfast room on the first. Even if you’re not in town for work, it’s worth taking yourself on a tour of the basement-level meeting room spaces, where a glass floor reveals some of the ruins of the baths of the Roman emperor Diocletian.

In the Area

The hotel’s position on the Piazza della Repubblica puts it within a five- to 10-minute walk of sights including the Diocletian Baths and the cathedral of Santa Maria Maggiore, as well as the city’s main train station. In addition, it’s right on one of Rome’s two metro lines, which makes the Spanish Steps, Vatican, Colosseum and Forum all easy trips. Also nearby is the relatively untouristed but beautiful neighborhood of Monti, where many students, writers and other creative types live. Here, there’s a great local aperitivo scene in the area’s main square, the Piazza Madonna dei Monti, and at neighborhood wine bars Al Vino al Vino and Ai Tre Scalini; Taverna dei Fori Imperiali is a good restaurant to book for dinner nearby.

How to Get There

Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Piazza Della Repubblica, 47
Rome, 00185 Italy

Reviews

4.5 Very Good 3295 Reviews
Business Trip
Reviewed 4 days ago

Great stay, although it's very short only for one night. I suppose to stay for a week but my plan was changed. I had to call front desk if they can cancel the rest of my stay without penalty, and they did help me out. Every one seems to be attentive and helpful.

The hotel was nice itself, but rooms were too small. The area seems to appeared in the ghetto area, streets are dirty.

Grace Strasser

Beautiful hotel in Rome
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stay here for one night and was upgraded to a larger room with a city view. The service was amazing from the bell boy, concierge, room service, to receptionist. The receptionist was very welcoming and the lady showed us our room. The room was huge with lots of spaces. The room was clean with a nice bathroom. As Titanium elite, I was allow for late check-out up to 4 pm. However, our train was leaving at 7 pm. Therefore, we requested a check-out at 5 pm and the receptionist allowed it after asking her supervisor. The hotel located near major attractions but we mostly took a taxi because the metro in front of the hotel was shut down due the the escalator incident couple months ago. The receptionist also suggest us to be careful around Roma Termini during night time due to petty thieves. Overall, it was a great stay and I would recommend to stay here.

Honeymoon Hotel
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros: First off, this hotel is beautiful! We were upgraded to a suite due to some Marriott rewards I had, and the room was incredible! The staff were overall very wonderful and helpful. The buffet breakfast was delicious and had tons of choices. The hotel was a little far from the "main" areas, but I loved that it was set away a little bit and that it was in such a historic area. The hotel itself has so much history, which I really appreciated.
Cons: Our shower would switch temperature about every 30 seconds, swinging from ice cold to scalding hot, so you could only get about 10 good seconds before it was one or the other. They tried to repair it during our stay, but it made only a small difference. This made showering very difficult. If I had paid cash for this room, I would not have been happy. Also, my husband and I got stuck in the elevator (like the elevator stopped working), and the call button didn't work. I was nervous no one would know we were in there, so I was trying to make international phone calls to the front desk from my cell phone. They ended up coming before I got through and within about 10 minutes we were free. I understand these things happen, but the manager's response was "let's just forget this ever happened." Probably not the best customer service line to use, and definitely not what I would expect from a Marriott hotel.
Overall a great hotel, but those few changes could have taken our stay from good to exceptional.

Unacceptable mistake
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is beautiful, well located, service is excellent, breakfast is good. However, the hotel decided to fix or remodel the room above ours. For 2 days in a row. A tremendous noise starts at 9:00. Even calling reception, they do not stop. Unacceptable for a hotel of this category.

Beautiful but Disappointing
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We looked forward to our stay at this beautiful hotel but were very disappointed with the service. We requested 2 beds. Our first night, we were told we were upgraded but not told it was a king. That just doesn't work for us. The room was beautiful, but the bed could not be separated. Gather items after a long overnight international flight...and move. To the noisy street side and a much smaller and not upgraded room. But 2 beds. Our third and final night, we were given another beautiful room, but again with a king bed! So, we had to wait for housekeeping once again to come and change the room. This inattention to detail is simply inexcusable. As elite members, we were given a late check-out. We went to the front desk to get our new key but were told that our old one would work for late check-out. It did not. Another trip to the front desk. We realize that things may be done differently in other countries, however as we are both from the hotel industry, these things should simply never occur. A reply to our survey by Pierre Pessina, Reception Manager, failed to comprehend our disappointment over the 2 bed/king bed/upgrade situation. No one should have to move 3 times during a 3-night stay at a luxury hotel. Period.