4.5
Very Good 512 Reviews
Jetsetter Verified
This Hotel meets our standards
Our editors have been here and it has met our standards

What We Love

  • Great location near the Luberon region of Provence
  • Supping on seasonal delicacies harvested in the hotel garden
  • Drooling over the range of L’Occitane toiletries and other goodies on offer in the hotel’s well-stocked boutique
  • Indulging in a fragrant lavender, verbena or honey body treatment in the sun-flooded spa
  • Sipping vintage brandy overlooking the pool at sunset in the Caveau des Minimes bar

What To Know

  • Access to the spa costs an additional $33 per person, per day; make sure you book appointments well ahead, or risk disappointment
  • WiFi is free but reception is patchy in parts of the hotel
  • Dress code is classic chic rather than hip
  • If you want to see more of the region you’ll need to either rent a car or go on one of the hotel’s private excursions
  • The bathtubs are wonderful, but they take a long time to fill
  • Pets are permitted at an additional cost of $32 per day
  • Parking is available on-site for no additional cost

Amenities

  •  Babysitting
  •  Bar
  •  Free WiFi
  •  Gym
  •  Handicap-accessible
  •  Parking On Site
  •  Pet-friendly
  •  Pool
  •  Restaurant
  •  Spa
Disclaimer: This content was accurate at the time the hotel was reviewed. Please check our partner sites when booking to verify that details are still correct.
Dining Drink Eat Honeymoon Luxury Modern Romance Wellness chair property living room lighting Lobby

Overview

The Review

Tastefully refurbished by stone-loving architect Bruno Legrand, Le Couvent des Minimes sits on the flower-skirted hem of the Luberon, a region famed for its stunning villages, sumptuous cuisine and special quality of light, which has seduced artists from Cezanne to Van Gogh.

Behind the hotel’s imposing stone façade — hidden along a drive hedged with silver-leafed olive groves and gardens dotted with sweetly pungent plants — lie 46 handsome rooms and suites, which combine put-your-feet-up coziness with lets-get-dressed-for-dinner style. The white stone walls are enlivened by bold stripes, wood and woven textiles; the rooms open onto gardens, the pool or the lavender-strewn cloister courtyard (which is where, each morning, I tucked in to wafer-light croissants slathered with homemade raspberry jam).{“type”:”img-inline”,”src”:”/static/images/product/properties/2350/prop-36554-1327334208-full.jpg”,”width”:”275″,”caption”:”Surrounded by fields and forest, Le Couvent offers a low-key scene in the glam South of France.”}

Superior Matines Rooms are ideal for singles and couples, while space seekers and families will love the larger, deluxe Restanques. There are also six spacious suites, each with its own lounge. Celebrating our 10th anniversary, my partner and I chose La Cassine, an impossibly romantic suite with vaulted ceilings and plush furnishings tucked away in the tower of what was once a church.

With sauna, hammam and fitness room, relaxing here is a breeze, while special body scrubs using L’Occitane beauty products — the ingredients for which come from common Provence plants such as lavender, lemon balm and verbena — soon brought a healthy glow to our city-frazzled skin.

Dinner is prepared by French chef, Jérôme Roy, whose canny reinterpretations of traditional Provençal and Mediterranean cuisine, like the squid served with salted plums, get your taste buds working overtime.

Surrounded by fields and forests, you won’t find a glitzy, South-of-France-dahling scene at Le Couvent. If, though, you want to de-stress in stunning surroundings while you improve your petanque, laze by the pool or play a few rounds of golf, you might just find — as we did — that you never want to leave.

How to Get There

Le Couvent des Minimes – Hotel & Spa
Chemin des Jeux de Maï
Mane, 04300 France

Reviews

4.5 Very Good 512 Reviews
Best place to stay near lavender fields
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel lounge is so beautiful , the staff are friendly specially the general manager , the view from the garden is breathtaking, there is a nice swimming pool , my family enjoyed every minute, we have tried the Bistro , food was good , the service is slow but this might be because we were a group of 10 and we have reserved our table last minute as we were visiting lavender fields , we enjoyed having breakfast at the terrace over looking the lavender field , you have to take in consideration that most of the rooms are not accessible by elevators and one has to climb so many stairs, over all it was a very nice experience and we are planning to return

Beautiful Hotel let down by poor service
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent two nights here. Accept that £:€ rate not in UK favour summer of 2018 but the prices here are incredibly high (14€ for bottle of hotel house water) and the service just does not match the price charged. Firstly not easy to find, and was pouring with rain when we pulled up, but no offers of help with baggage/umbrellas until we’d negotiated the puddles and got to Reception. Then immediately asked if wanted to book dinner in the restaurant as places at a premium- felt pressured to make immediate decision while still checking in - not a pleasant welcome to hotel. Our two rooms were on the same floor but at either end of a long corridor. Rooms nice but small, and nowhere for our suitcases, blocked small wardrobe. Bathrooms both a good size. Toilet in one room separate from bathroom and no hand wash basin in there. Had to walk through bedroom each time used loo to wash hands - weird design. Cost of food: eye watering. Three very average club sandwiches and bottle of water by the pool were 84€. Bistro meal was 250€ for 4 people food again average and service throughout less than average. 2 gin and tonics 40€ and hard to track down bar staff to serve us. No pool side service so everyone had to get their own recliner mattresses, and fresh towels, and to go inside to find bar staff to order drinks. Area needed a sweep and ashtrays full of old smelly cigarette butts. Breakfast was again really expensive 31€ per person, and if wanted fried eggs etc had to pay more. No offers of another cup of coffee/tea. Choice average. Best service was at breakfast. Such a shame as setting and building beautiful, really lovely modern interior design- badly let down by very high prices and poor customer service. GM wife came and talked to all guests at breakfast on our last day, we said about service and she said because only one member of staff for the bar, we said surely that was the problem they needed two, but she said too much work for them, so didn’t seem to see the problem. Would not go back.

Beautifully converted building........
Reviewed 2 months ago

Design is at the heart of this hotel, from the central lounge area to the quite distinctively designed bedrooms. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. Whilst the receptionists were excellent I will remember the quite strange bath into which we had to clamber to take a shower, being unable to get a drink (bar staff running off elsewhere in the hotel) in the lounge bar at 11pm and the malodour from the drain on the terrace as we ate our dinner.......minor issues but in need of attention.

Disgraceful Customer Service
Reviewed 2 months ago

I have never experienced such amateur, clumsy service in France, let alone at a Relais and Chateau property. If you want to experience a French Fawlty Towers, give this a try and take your sense of humour. Room service requests were botched, the bar service was incompetent and the general attitude was “why should we care”
A disputed invoice resulted in a rude and arrogant letter from the President of Relais and Chateau Phillipe Gombert, disqualifying me “with immediate effect” from Club 5C membership.
To twist Groucho Marx slightly, why would I want to be a member of a club run by him
Rob Carter

Nightmare Upon Checkout
Reviewed 6 months ago

My wife and I have been incredibly patient on awaiting a response from Le Couvent des Minimes on our stay in December due to a number of issues listed below. Our overall stay was very positive, as the staff was friendly and food was very good. However, we had many issues occurred after checkout when we left the property. We attempted to handle this in a polite fashion, but have not even received a proper response from the hotel.

We traveled all the way from California to visit your property in December, and spent 4 nights in the hotel, 3 of which, we had dinner at the property. In addition, we spent a day at the spa. To summarize, we gave the hotel a lot of business!

Instead of leaving with a relaxed, we are incredibly stressed and now regret staying at the property. To recap:

Their system was down upon check-out, so their staff insisted on writing our credit card on a sheet of paper. We were in a rush to get to the airport for Paris, so we agred to do so. My wife asked that the manager to call us with a final amount prior to charging our card. Instead, the staff charged our card without permission. To make matters worse, our credit card was compromised with someone ordering an Apple computer. Apparently, they never properly disposed of our credit card information.

We were told that breakfast was part of our package when we arrived at the hotel. Instead, we received a bill that charged us for breakfast each morning.

We were told upon check-in that our hotel room was an upgrade. After staying the first night, we asked if we could change rooms. The bathroom was part of the main room, and it was difficult to get ready with all the steam from the shower. We asked to move rooms, and were told we would need to approval by the GM. Each morning, we asked if the GM had provided an approval, and were told no answer was provided. One morning, a person had told us she was recently promoted to front desk, and she could approve a room change. We assumed this was the approval we needed. Instead, the hotel charged the higher hotel fees.