5.0
Excellent 889 Reviews
Jetsetter Approved
This Hotel meets our standards
This hotel meets our standards, but we haven't stayed yet

What We Love

  • A unique retreat with a pool named one of the most stunning in the world by Condé Nast TravellerImmersing yourself in Bali's natural beauty while enjoying the perks of a luxury stay
  • Sophisticated dining under a dramatic roof and massage treatments on request
  • Opting to stay in a lavish tent with its own private pool

What To Know

  • This luxe jungle retreat takes glamping to a whole other level
  • The stunning infinity pool is one of the main draws, and some suites have private plunge pools
  • Free shuttle life into Ubud
curtain mosquito net textile Bedroom

Overview

An eco-luxe cabin or safari-style tent with a private pool – includes breakfast, tea and a massage

The Lowdown

Bali might not strike you as camping destination – more a boho-luxury sort of island. But you can put all thoughts about flyaway tent ropes aside at this luxurious jungle retreat, where even the term ‘glamping’ doesn’t quite do the concept justice.
Home to five tented suites and three eco-cabins, Sadat Glamping Tents is the first camp of its kind to open in the artistic town of Ubud – Bali’s cultural heart. You’d be hard-pushed to find somewhere with a greater sense of place; aside from the cream canvas and thatched roofs peeking out of the tropical foliage, this boutique sanctuary brings guests closer to the green environment in the dreamiest way possible. The infinity-edged main pool – featured in Condé Nast Traveller’s ‘most stunning swimming pools in the world’ – appears to flow right into the terraced rice fields below.
Hop on a bicycle and cycle the three kilometres to Ubud’s café-lined centre, or catch a ride in the complimentary shuttle. Even if it’s a restful do-nothing break you have in mind, it’s worth venturing out once in awhile purely for the pleasure of returning to your private haven, bedecked with hand-inlaid furniture, floaty muslin, bamboo bedframes and all manner of artisanal objets d’art, mostly in calm sky-and-earth hues. Who needs solid walls when getting back to nature is this good?

How to Get There

Sandat Glamping Tents
Pejeng Kawang
Ubud, 80571 Indonesia

Reviews

Better than a hotel
itd-be-rude-not-to

Incredible experience, I would stay here over a hotel any day of the week. Premium experience, private pool, air conditioning, delicious buffet breakfast, attentive staff. I cant wait to return. Highly recommended.

One of my favorite Ubud getaways
ryan1103

I’m an American who has stayed in Bali about 5 times. This is one of the top places I’ve stayed. My partner and I really enjoyed it.

Lovely and quiet bungalows give a serene and private experience. Our little pool was also great.

The overall resort is well designed and beautiful, with a pleasant restaurant and yoga studio.

Owners and staff were friendly and accommodating. Delicious food and nice drinks at the restaurant!

I would encourage people to stay here who don’t want to be stuck in the busy center of Ubud. It’s a quiet atmosphere designed for those who want to truly get away from it all :)

Beautiful BUT mixed feelings.
Melanie F

Sandat Glamping looks exactly like the pictures. Absolutely beautiful. BUT it is not 5 star. It is difficult to write a review on this property as it is visually lovely, but at the end of the day it is just a pretty tent with its own pool and not worth the high price they charge.

Arriving at Sandat was a real let down. We drove down a dirt road that was surrounded by weeds and derelict buildings, not lush rice fields.

The main reason we came to Sandat was for peace & quiet. Instead we were woken at 4:30am by roosters surrounding our tent and construction work happening at neighbouring properties.

Whilst the overall presentation of the property is beautiful, on closer inspection the tents, decks, pools need attention. The deck surrounding the pool was in poor condition with a lot of rotted out timber which you had to be careful walking on. The tent roof internally is covered in mouldy dark patches. The hot water for the shower runs out in 3 minutes and the beds are like rock. There is also a safe in the room but you can not select your own PIN, that staff tell you what it is. Not safe at all.

For a 5 star property paying over $400AUD a night there should be bath robes, slippers, milk in the fridge, an international power adaptor, changed towels daily.
Their idea of using a xylophone to call room service is a lovely idea but the staff don't hear it and you end up walking to reception/bar yourself each time.

The first night we stayed in the Banten Tent. Unfortunately this tent is at the boundary of the property with construction work next door and atleast 5 - 10 roosters. This meant we were woken at 4:30am due to the constant noise.
The staff were lovely and moved us to another tent and gave us 2 free massages for the inconvenience. They moved us to the Oogh tent but this was right next to the restaurant which then meant it was noisy late at night and early in the morning.

We had booked for 5 nights and requested a refund for the last 2 nights to stay somewhere else. The email response from the owners (Italians that live in Italy) was basically too bad, we cant do anything about whats happening with the construction and the roosters should we a welcome sound as this is the nature of Bali. This is kind of a fair response but its not like we asked for a refund of the whole trip.

In the end we left 2 nights early (no refund) and stayed elsewhere.

If you want 5 Star quiet accommodation don't stay here. If you want to stay in a pretty tent and happy to be awake at 4:30am each morning and listen to construction work all day, give it a try.